WIP: Scout Ship

It’s been a busy and enjoyable week.

I’ve sent of my first novel to a prospective agent and I’ve been steaming ahead with my treatment for my second book; both very enjoyable and exciting activities. My new weights workout is going well too; I bought Beginning Bodybuilding from Amazon and I’ve worked through five workouts so far. It’s an excellent book from what I can make out, and it should certainly help me to progress beyond what limited weights I’ve done in the past. I’ve already lost some girth, so that’s great… and when my replacement phone arrives I should be back to going running as well.

In between all this activity, I’ve been working on a new 3D project: to model a scout ship inside and out, with landing gear, food machine and everything else that I can think of. It started out as a rough 3D sketch in Zbrush, using Zspheres as a base on which to build a low poly model in Maya. This didn’t turn out quite how I was hoping, and it needed more work. So, back to Zbrush it went and, after some additional sculpting, I brought it back into Maya. For those of you that are interested, I made the sculpt ‘live’ and rebuilt a low poly model on top of it; Zbrush is great, but I find it difficult to get the exact shapes that I need. It’s easy to lay out new geometry on top of a sculpt in Zbrush, but hard to get cylindrical body parts regular enough that I can then optimise; I want something that’s looks as though it’s compose of 4 million polygons, but don’t want the mesh to be anywhere near that dense.

The resulting rebuild in Maya, after smoothing and removing excess edges (to reduce the overall poly count) was around 70,000 polygons. I’ve also started to build the interior, and have the main deck, the airlock drop-tube and engineering deck roughed out. Here are the test renders from tonight, but note that neither of the interior decks have ceilings at the moment, and there is much more detail to be added before I start to texture the model.

You can click each of the images to open them in a new window or tab.

Front View:

Rear View:

Interior View, looking towards the cockpit:

Looking inside, through the cockpit towards the living quarters:

The engineering deck, with hatch to main deck:

Leave a Reply

